School of the Year Award

​2014 Winner

Brisbane State High School was awarded the School of the Year 2014 in the augural Jack Pizzey Awards for Excellence in Educational Leadership.

The award was won thanks to the exemplary leadership skills demonstrated by Executive Principal, Wade Haynes, the high calibre development opportunities provided to teaching staff and the exceptional parent and community engagement practices employed.

The school has a strong commitment to professional learning and has structured their timetable to allow a two hour professional contact block to enable staff to plan collaboratively.

Professional learning communities have also been established along with a highly developed coaching program for teachers.

Brisbane State High School holds annual awards and has more than 17 parent support groups.

The school is recognised as a lead performer in both the state and independent systems.


 Brisbane State High School

2014 School of the Year
Last updated
02 November 2015